The Memory Garden - Leo's Story

Leo is a 12 year old boy whose little sister, Iris, is sick. When Leo begins to realise that Iris is not going to get better, he experiences a range of different emotions. In this book, we learn that it can be better to express our emotions, even the difficult ones like anger, sadness and grief. We also learn how Iris’ family will keep the memory of her with them forever.

The Memory Garden Series are three books for children exploring the topic of death and grief. Each story has been written for primary-school aged children to help parents, carers and professionals to begin conversations with children about death and dying. Designed specifically for use with children facing a life-limiting illness and their siblings, these books can also be used with children to normalise feelings of grief and loss. The books can be used individually or as a series.


Additional Information

ISBN:  9780994490315

ISBN 10:

Audience:  Parents/Children

Format:  Paperback

Language:  English

Date published:  2016

Publisher:  The Children's Hospital at Westmead

Country of publication:  Australia

Natasha Samy, Illustrator Natalie Marshall