The Memory Garden - Iris' Story

Iris is a nine year old girl who enjoys playing soccer and spending time with her family. Iris is also terminally ill. In this book, we learn how Iris copes with being sick and how she deals with sadness and loss. We also learn how Iris’ family will keep the memory of her with them forever.

The Memory Garden Series are three books for children exploring the topic of death and grief. Each story has been written for primary-school aged children to help parents, carers and professionals to begin conversations with children about death and dying. Designed specifically for use with children facing a life-limiting illness and their siblings, these books can also be used with children to normalise feelings of grief and loss. The books can be used individually or as a series.


Additional Information

ISBN:  9780994490315

ISBN 10:

Audience:  Parents/Children

Format:  Paperback

Language:  English

Date published:  2016

Publisher:  The Children's Hospital at Westmead

Country of publication:  Australia



Natasha Samy, Illustrator Natalie Marshall