The Memory Garden - Hazel's Story

Hazel’s big sister, Iris, is terminally ill. This is a story about Hazel and how she copes with Iris’ illness. Hazel experiences many of the common feeling siblings go through when they have a brother or sister who is sick. Along with Hazel, we learn how to manage feelings of grief and sadness and how we can keep our happy memories close to us.

The Memory Garden Series are three books for children exploring the topic of death and grief. Each story has been written for primary-school aged children to help parents, carers and professionals to begin conversations with children about death and dying. Designed specifically for use with children facing a life-limiting illness and their siblings, these books can also be used with children to normalise feelings of grief and loss. The books can be used individually or as a series.


Additional Information

ISBN:  9780994490308

ISBN 10:

Audience:  Parents/Children

Format:  Paperback

Language:  English

Date published:  2016

Publisher:  The Children's Hospital at Westmead

Country of publication:  Australia

Natasha Samy, Illustrator Natalie Marshall